Mount Grace Priory

Most photos of Mount Grace Priory feature the late medieval Carthusian charterhouse.  The ruined church is an iconic image. The house is often overlooked.

The former guest house of the monastery was converted into a private house in 1654 probably by Lord Darcy and substantially renovated and extended by Sir Issac Lowthian Bell about 19001“History of Mount Grace Priory | English Heritage.” English Heritage, 2020, www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/mount-grace-priory/history-and-stories/history/. Accessed 16 Mar. 2021.. The northern wing (to the left in the photo) is this later extension2Pevsner, Nikolaus. “The Buildings of England – Yorkshire – The North Riding”. Penguin Books. Reprinted 1985. ISBN 0 14 071009 9.  Bell’s internal remodelling of the house was in the Arts and Crafts style of the time3“Description of Mount Grace Priory | English Heritage.” English Heritage, 2020, www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/mount-grace-priory/history-and-stories/history/description/. Accessed 16 Mar. 2021..

In 1953, the National Trust acquired Mount Grace from the Bells in lieu of death duties. It is now managed by English Heritage.

Today, the house and grounds were obviously closed due to the Covid regulations. This photo was taken from the Public Footpath that crosses the carpark which was being relaid.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.